top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenny Gonda

From "One day" to "Day One"

If there are people who help me make daily decisions sometimes more effectively than my parents, those are voice artists. From deciding what meal to buy for the day, what moisturizer to add to my skincare routine, or whose quote from an animated film should I embody, there are voices that helped me decide, think, and feel.


My appreciation for these artists, not talents, grew fonder when I attended the Certified Voice Artist Program (CVAP) hosted by none other than the VoiceMaster, Sir Pocholo de Leon Gonzales. He is the embodiment of what a voice artist should be—crazy talented and passionate. I was lucky enough to attend his free webinar "Gusto Kong Maging Voice Talent" in May, and I finally got the opportunity to attend the fist batch of CVAP in June. I've been secretly wanting to become a voice over artist but I didn't know how to bring life to that dream. With CVAP, everything seems within my reach. My experience with CVAP is unimaginable and I'm happy to share my learnings in this blog.


Don't just be inspired, be an inspiration

Sir Pocholo fully lives by this quote. He was one like all aspiring voice artists in this generation—excited and ready to conquer the voice artist industry. Of course, he had his fair share of obstacles, but he knew better to give up. He grew up watching and hearing his idols and dreaming to be just like them, and he did. Now that he's fully equipped with knowledge and expertise, he now shares his talent with all the young artists of our generation. As the man behind a thousand voices, he never failed to help others reach their full potential.


You can't spell believe without "be"

The best time to believe in yourself is when no one believes in you, but first you have to be who you want to be. The world of voice acting is vast, and your have the power to choose who and what you want to become. Knowing yourself is key to get started in anything. Find out what your why is and everything will follow. As long as you practice what you want with heart and a mission, nothing can every go wrong.


What to know about voice acting

Being a voice artist isn't only about having a good voice. For voice talents, sure, but voice artists are on a different level. You need to have the following in order to succeed:

  1. Proper speaking voice

  2. Knows how to read

  3. Knows how to follow instructions

  4. Willing to invest in TEAM (Time, Energy, Ability, and Money)

  5. Creativity and Imagination

  6. Willing to be crazy

  7. Mental toughness

  8. Team Player

Voice artistry isn't called an art for nothing. It takes time to hone and mold until you get the right piece in your gallery. Don't give up and let your voice be heard.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Ending with a New Beginning

This marks our last day of the Certified Voice Artist Program (CVAP). As much as my separation anxiety is getting the best of me, my heart is still at peace knowing there is no end in this journey. Si

Voice Artistry: Marketing your Mic

For a typical company to sell its products or services, they usually come up with eye-catching pubs, promotional campaigns, or a known endorser to get their name in the market. Everything we see or he

I believe, I become, I am

Voice artistry is the art of becoming, and you cannot become if you don't hone your skills. In Day 3 of the Certified Voice Artist Program, Sir Choy dove deeper into knowing the essence of what it is

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page